Head to head

The Light Salon Boost vs Omnilux Contour Face

Both are flexible red and near-infrared masks using 633 nm and 830 nm, and both brands cite the same US FDA clearance (K191629).

By Richard P · Records last researched 1 Nov 2026. Built from each maker's published information. Luma Index hasn't tested either mask, and this isn't a ranking.

The Light Salon

Boost

£395 at The Light Salon (UK), checked 1 Nov 2026

633 / 830 nm · 10 minutes · 24-month warranty

Omnilux

Contour Face

£350.90 at Omnilux (UK-facing page), checked 1 Nov 2026

633 / 830 nm · 10 minutes · 24-month warranty

Key differences

  • At our last checks, the Omnilux Contour Face was £44.10 cheaper (£350.90 vs £395). Prices change; check the dates below.
  • Published studies of the exact mask: 0 for The Light Salon Boost, 1 for the Omnilux Contour Face.
  • Key facts published: 7 of 12 for The Light Salon Boost, 10 of 12 for the Omnilux Contour Face. This measures disclosure, not quality.

What they have in common

  • Both include red and near-infrared light.
  • Both list 633 nm and 830 nm.
  • Both are flexible silicone masks.
  • Both have sessions of 10 minutes.
  • Both come with a 24-month warranty.
  • Both publish a light-output figure, but neither says how it was measured, so the figures can’t be compared fairly.
  • Both cite the same US FDA 510(k) clearance, K191629. See each mask's page for what the FDA record names.

What isn't published

The Light Salon Boost

  • How output was measured
  • User manual
  • Safety standards declared
  • Published study of this device
  • UK company / contact

Omnilux Contour Face

  • How output was measured
  • UK company / contact

Neither maker publishes: How output was measured; UK company / contact. That makes those points impossible to compare.

Side by side

DetailThe Light Salon BoostOmnilux Contour Face
Price and retailers
Lowest checked UK price£395 at The Light Salon (UK), checked 1 Nov 2026£350.90 at Omnilux (UK-facing page), checked 1 Nov 2026
Retailers recordedThe Light Salon (UK), Cult Beauty, Liberty, John Lewis, Harvey Nichols, SelfridgesOmnilux (UK-facing page)
Light
Wavelengths633 / 830 nm633 / 830 nm
LED count56 Conflicting information132
Light output (mW/cm²)3030
How output was measuredNot publishedNot published
Dose per session (J/cm²)19.2 Conflicting informationNot published Not yet checked
Treatment
Session length10 minutes10 minutes
How often3–5 times per week; minimum programme 4–6 weeks3–5 times per week Conflicting information
ModesSingle programme (red + NIR delivered simultaneously)Single fixed 10-minute programme (red + NIR together); one on/off button
Design
FormFlexible siliconeFlexible silicone
PowerRechargeable controller; charging cable and plug supplied, with global adaptorsRechargeable handheld controller, wired to the mask; mains power supply and plug adaptors included
WeightNot published Not disclosedNot published Not disclosed
Eye protectionNot published Conflicting informationNone included; brand says not required. Optional eyewear available on request
App requiredNoNo
SubscriptionNoNo
Ownership
Warranty24 months24 months Conflicting information
Returns14-day cooling-off for unused devices; opened devices cannot be returned for hygiene reasons unless faulty. Brand arranges collection; collection costs may be deducted from the refund.30 days from delivery for LED devices bought on omniluxled.com; original box and accessories required; $15 USD return fee deducted from refund; returns via brand's prepaid label
In the boxMask, Controller, Charging cable and plug, Global adaptors, Protective bag, Educational collateral / user guideFlexible silicone face device, Rechargeable battery controller, Power supply and plug adaptors, USB-C line to USB-A connector, Head straps, Carry bag
Evidence and safety
Published studies of this mask01
US FDA 510(k)K191629 Conflicting informationK191629 Independently verified
Who shouldn’t use it7 warnings listed8 warnings listed
Points where sources disagree57
Key facts published7 of 1210 of 12

Values are as stated by each maker unless labelled. Light-output figures are the makers' claims; few say how they were measured. What these numbers mean

What reviewers say

The Light Salon Boost

13 magazine and newspaper reviews recorded, 12 of them hands-on tests.

  • HELLO!: Celeb favourite LED face mask
  • Get The Gloss (Wellness Awards 2024): Gold: Best wellness tool or accessory
  • Who What Wear UK: Best mid-priced LED mask
  • Condé Nast Traveller Beauty Awards 2024: Winner: best wellness products for travel
Read the review summaries →

Omnilux Contour Face

13 magazine and newspaper reviews recorded, 11 of them hands-on tests.

  • Who What Wear UK: Best LED mask for beginners
  • Glamour UK (roundup): Best for dark spots
  • British Vogue: Best LED mask for sun damage
  • The Independent (IndyBest): Best LED face mask for plumping
Read the review summaries →

Award labels are the publications' own. We summarise coverage; we don't score it.

Compare further

Open both in the comparison tool How to choose a mask

Other head-to-heads: CurrentBody LED Mask Series 2 vs Omnilux Contour Face

Spotted an error? Tell us.

Research-ledBuilt from published information and manufacturer documentation
TransparentKey specifications link to their source; gaps and conflicts are marked
UK-focusedUK prices, retailers and regulatory information
Affiliate supportedWe may earn a commission from retailers, at no extra cost to you. How this works
Compare