Head to head
FOREO FAQ 202 vs CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3
Two flexible masks with several light colours and app-controlled programmes.
By Richard P · Records last researched 1 Nov 2026. Built from each maker's published information. Luma Index hasn't tested either mask, and this isn't a ranking.
FOREO
FAQ 202
£503.30 at Lookfantastic, checked 1 Nov 2026
850 / 650 / 465 / 520 / 600 / 580 / 440 / 485 nm · 5–15 minutes · 24-month warranty
CurrentBody
LED Mask Series 3
£499.99 at CurrentBody (UK), checked 2 Nov 2026
415 / 532 / 590 / 633 / 830 / 1072 nm · 10 minutes · 24-month warranty
Key differences
- Only the CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3 includes deep near-infrared light.
- Sessions: 5–15 minutes for the FOREO FAQ 202, 10 minutes for the CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3.
- Only the CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3 publishes a light-output figure.
- Published studies of the exact mask: 0 for the FOREO FAQ 202, 3 for the CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3.
- App: the FOREO FAQ 202 needs one (once, to unlock before first use; optional afterwards); the CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3 doesn't.
- FOREO FAQ 202 subscription: Reported: full preset suite £4.99/month (June 2026); accidental-damage cover £9.99/month (reported by a reviewer, not the brand).
- Key facts published: 8 of 12 for the FOREO FAQ 202, 11 of 12 for the CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3. This measures disclosure, not quality.
What they have in common
- Both include near-infrared, red, blue, green and amber/yellow light.
- Both are flexible silicone masks.
- Similar lowest checked prices (£503.30 and £499.99).
- Both come with a 24-month warranty.
What isn't published
FOREO FAQ 202
- Light output (irradiance)
- How output was measured
- Published study of this device
- UK company / contact
CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3
- How output was measured
Neither maker publishes: How output was measured. That makes those points impossible to compare.
Side by side
| Detail | FOREO FAQ 202 | CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3 |
|---|---|---|
| Price and retailers | ||
| Lowest checked UK price | £503.30 at Lookfantastic, checked 1 Nov 2026 | £499.99 at CurrentBody (UK), checked 2 Nov 2026 |
| Retailers recorded | FOREO (UK shipping), Lookfantastic, John Lewis | CurrentBody (UK), Amazon UK |
| Light | ||
| Wavelengths | 850 / 650 / 465 / 520 / 600 / 580 / 440 / 485 nm | 415 / 532 / 590 / 633 / 830 / 1072 nm |
| LED count | 600 | 750 |
| Light output (mW/cm²) | Not published Not disclosed | 8–50 |
| How output was measured | Not published | Not published |
| Dose per session (J/cm²) | Not published Not yet checked | 4.65–30 |
| Treatment | ||
| Session length | 5–15 minutes | 10 minutes |
| How often | 5–15 mins, 3–5 times per week | 3–5 times weekly; max one treatment per area per 24 h |
| Modes | 8 colours selected by button press; app adds NIR on/off toggle, Low/Medium/High intensity, adjustable auto-off time, pre-programmed guided treatments and remote control | 4 presets on the controller — Advanced Anti-Ageing (633/830/1072 nm), Advanced Clearing (415/633/830 nm), Complexion Corrector (590/830 nm), Balance & Brighten (532/830 nm) — plus custom programmes (any of the 6 wavelengths, chosen by face zone) built in the app ('MyDose™') |
| Design | ||
| Form | Flexible silicone | Flexible silicone |
| Power | Rechargeable, USB charging cable supplied (no mains adapter listed); manual says use only a SELV power adapter | Rechargeable controller with touchscreen, USB-C; mains adapter not included |
| Weight | 169 g | 460 g |
| Eye protection | Open-eye design; no goggles or eye shields listed | Eye inserts included; manual says to position the mask so you can see through the eye holes |
| App required | Once, to unlock before first use; optional afterwards | No |
| Subscription | Reported: full preset suite £4.99/month (June 2026); accidental-damage cover £9.99/month Third-party reported | Not published Not disclosed |
| Ownership | ||
| Warranty | 24 months | 24 months |
| Returns | 14 days from delivery, unopened only, full refund; opened or used products not accepted ('exceptions for specific countries could be applied') | 30 days, new/unused with seals intact only. Customer pays return postage. Separate 14-day refund if the sensitivity test causes a reaction. Faulty: refund or replacement within 6 months (postage covered), then replacement or credit. |
| In the box | FAQ™ 202 mask, 60 mL FAQ™ Silicone Cleaning Spray, USB charging cable, User manual, Quick start guide Conflicting information | Mask, Controller, USB-C cable, Storage bag, Eye inserts, User manual Conflicting information |
| Evidence and safety | ||
| Published studies of this mask | 0 | 3 |
| US FDA 510(k) | K240378 Independently verified | K260715 Conflicting information |
| Who shouldn’t use it | 5 warnings listed | 10 warnings listed |
| Points where sources disagree | 7 | 6 |
| Key facts published | 8 of 12 | 11 of 12 |
Values are as stated by each maker unless labelled. Light-output figures are the makers' claims; few say how they were measured. What these numbers mean
What reviewers say
FOREO FAQ 202
9 magazine and newspaper reviews recorded, 8 of them hands-on tests.
- Women's Health UK: Best LED mask for consistent use
- Harper's Bazaar UK: Best for comfort
- The Times (Luxx): The anti-ageing LED mask
- ELLE UK: Best for varied treatment modes
CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3
5 magazine and newspaper reviews recorded, 4 of them hands-on tests.
- The Guardian (The Filter): Best LED mask overall
- British Vogue: Best for a personalised treatment
- Cosmopolitan UK: Best LED mask overall
- Harper's Bazaar UK: Best LED mask overall
Award labels are the publications' own. We summarise coverage; we don't score it.
Compare further
Open both in the comparison tool How to choose a mask
Other head-to-heads: CurrentBody LED Mask Series 2 vs CurrentBody LED Mask Series 3
Spotted an error? Tell us.